Tags

, , , ,

I’m a bit late. I was held up in class tonight and I also had to make a quick stop at Teavana,

Anyhow I thought I would share a short background on the types of to start. There are several variations of tea (white, green, oolong, and of course black) which all come from the Camellia Seninsis plant. Each type is processed differently in order from white, being the least processed to black, which is the most. The processing changes the properties, and benefits of each type, with varying degrees of caffeine.

Mate teas come from the plant yerba mate (of tree rather) which grows in the subtropics of South America. Mate tea is a known metabolism booster, and appetite suppressant. It’s harvested mainly for the caffeine

Roobios Teas are non caffeinated “bush teas” from the legume plant family, which grows in South Africa. These bush teas are popularly known for their red color and high antioxidant properties.

Herbal teas are pretty self explanatory, so I’m not going to go into too much detail.

So my favorite blend during Autumn, is a spicy fusion from Teavana. I like to blend Chai Yen Thai Tea and Ginger Coconut. If you like chai teas, you absolutely have to try this blend It’s seriously addicting, and makes a great tea to start your day. It’s also a great pick me up, for the afternoon.

Benefits:

  • Improved circulation and cardiovascluar health
  • Is good for your heart
  • Contains Assam which helps improve mood and alleviates stress
  • Reduces depression

A benefits that I have noticed personally is the mood enhancement. Whenever I’m having a bad day, I brew a cup of this tea and I can feel the stress, and anxiety melt away.

Try it and let me know what you think. I recommend only steeping it for 3 minutes. And you can add  creamer if you like 🙂

