Photo Credit: Cirque du Soleil

What trip to Vegas would be complete without seeing a show? Certainly not mine. Always researching and planning ahead I booked tickets for my friends and I to see Cirque du Soliel’s Mystere.

Cirque du Soliel is regarded as a purely human circus. Using this unique approach to circus entertainment  Cirque is able to distinguish itself from the  competition. Every performance incorporates different circus styles from around the globe into each show, all with their own theme and storyline.

Mystere is a great introduction for a novice Cirque du Soliel fan. All the stunts and performances are extraordinary and leave you at the edge of your seat. The characters interact with the audience in between performances, so you never know what to expect. You may just be called onstage with them. Mystere also has more stunts than any other performance, so although there is a theatrical element, this particular show is more circus driven.

My favorite act from Mystere was called Hand to Hand. It was unbelievable, two men would balance each other, in various positions, using only their hands for support. Although all of the acts were great, this one particular performance stood out among the rest.

I would love to seem more shows by Cirque du Soliel, but I’m content for the moment.  I know I can always hop on a train and see a show while they are in New York City or catch one the next time I’m in Vegas (where they have 7 all year round).

